Advisory: The Maine Heritage Policy Center’s 2014 Freedom and Opportunity Luncheon


July 22, 2014

Mr. Brent Bozell to headline The Maine Heritage Policy Center’s 2014 Freedom and Opportunity Luncheon – DHHS Commissioner Mary Mayhew to receive 2014 Freedom and Opportunity Award.

PORTLAND, Maine – Governor Paul R. LePage, winner of The Maine Heritage Policy Center’s 2007 Freedom and Opportunity Award, will attend and make remarks at this year’s luncheon event. Mr. L. Brent Bozell III, founder and president of the Media Research Center, will be featured as the event’s keynote speaker.

Lecturer, syndicated columnist to more than 50 newspapers around the country, television commentator, debater, marketer, businessman, author, publisher and activist, Mr. Bozell is one of the most outspoken and effective national leaders in the conservative movement today.

Mr. Bozell runs the largest media watchdog organization in America. Since its launch in 1987, the Media Research Center has consistently exposed media bias in the national press using an empirical, scientific approach. In 2010, Mr. Bozell founded ForAmerica, an organization committed to restoring America to its founding principles.

He has been a guest on numerous television programs, including the O’Reilly Factor, Nightline, Larry King Live and the Glenn Beck Show. He appears weekly on the “Media Mash” segment of Hannity, on the Fox News Channel.

Mr. Bozell will share his perspective on the role of the media in American politics as well as how Americans perceive “objective” reporting.

Freedom and Opportunity Award

The Maine Heritage Policy Center presents the Freedom and Opportunity Award each year to the Maine citizen who has best demonstrated a core commitment to the principles of Freedom and Opportunity that serve to improve the economic well-being of this great state. This year, The Maine Heritage Policy Center is pleased to announce DHHS Commissioner Mary Mayhew of China, Maine has been selected to receive the 2014 Freedom and Opportunity Award.

Past Freedom and Opportunity Award winners are Mary Adams, 2004; Ray Richardson, 2005; Barber Foods, 2006; Paul LePage, 2007; KeyBank Maine, 2008; David Crocker, 2009; W. R. Jackson, Jr., 2010; Dan Billings, 2011; Michael Duddy, 2012; and Gordon Colby, 2013.


Date:               Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Time:               12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Luncheon and Keynote Address

Location:       Holiday Inn By The Bay, 88 Spring Street, Portland, Maine


  • Mrs. Jinger Duryea
    Board Member, The Maine Heritage Policy Center
  • The Honorable Paul R. LePage
    Governor, State of Maine
  • The Honorable Mary Mayhew
    Commissioner, Department of Health and Human Services, State of Maine
  • Mr. L. Brent Bozell III
    Founder and President, Media Research Center

Media Information:

Media credentials will be required as space is limited. Please confirm attendance no later than 2:00 p.m., Monday, July 28, 2014.

  • Media Availability: 12:45 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.
  • An audio mult box will be provided.